### OFFICERS 2012-2014

CATHY DARLING ALLEN PRESIDENT Shasta County

NEAL KELLEY VICE PRESIDENT Orange County

DEAN LOGAN TREASURER Los Angeles County

SUSAN M.RANOCHAK SECRETARY Mendocino County

## BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County SACHI HAMAI Los Angeles County JOSEPH HOLLAND Santa Barbara County

MARK LUNN Ventura County

KATHIE MORAN Colusa County

KAREN RHEA Kern County

JULIE RODEWALD San Luis Obispo County

BEVERLY ROSS Tehama County

LARRY WARD Riverside County

DAWN ABRAHAMSON\* Fremont City Clerk \* non-voting member

#### **ADVISORY COUNCIL:**

STEVE WEIR Contra Costa County

REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County

GAIL L. PELLERIN Santa Cruz County

### **ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:**

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County

KAMMI FOOTE Southern Area Inyo County JILL LAVINE Mother Lode Area Sacramento County

AUSTIN G. ERDMAN Central Area San Joaquin County

ELMA ROSAS Bay Area Santa Clara County

### LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES CLERK OF THE BOARD:

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County

JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County

#### COUNTY CLERK:

KATHIE MORAN Colusa County

CRAIG KRAMER Sacramento County

### **ELECTIONS**:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County KAREN RHEA

Kern County



# CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

### **CATHY DARLING ALLEN, PRESIDENT**

Shasta County Clerk
1643 Market Street, Redding, CA 96001
Tele 530-225-5730 Fax 530-225-5454
E-Mail: cdarling@co.shasta.ca.us
Website: www.caceo58.org

April 2, 2013

Assembly Member Rudy Salas, Jr., Principal Coauthor PO Box 942949 Sacramento, CA 94249-0032

Dear Assembly Member Salas:

The California Association of Clerks and Election Officials Elections Legislative Committee has reviewed **SB 401** (as introduced February 12, 2013), a bill that you have coauthored with former Senator Rubio. This proposal would delete the existing requirement that a voter be unable to personally affix their name and address in order to request that another person complete this on their behalf on the petition or nomination paper. The Committee has not taken a formal position but would like to express concerns.

County election officials are charged with the duty of receiving and validating signatures appended on petitions and papers relating to statewide and local issues. Cities and District official also rely upon the county election official for assistance when reviewing a petition or paper. Determining which voter may be entitled to sign the petition or paper is at the core of verification. This determination is substantiated by comparing the voter's signature and printed address on the document to their signature and address on their voter registration affidavit. The integrity of the petition balances on that fact and determination. In Mapstead v. Anchundo (1998), it was stated, "Both the additional attention of the signer (who must "personally affix" the information) and the result (the additional ability to verify that the signer was actually involved in the process) aid in preventing forgery and other potential abuse. The Court further stated, "In addition, the requirement that the signer "personally affix" the information ensures that the signer, at the time of signing, has actually affirmed the residence address placed on the petition. This affirmation goes to the very heart of the process-the Registrar's ability to verify whether those who signed the petition were entitled to do so."

We strongly believe that the voter who has the ability must personally affix their name, address and signature in order to determine the validity of the petition or paper. This key provision of law has been upheld by the courts as it has long protected the petition process and has led to fraud prevention.

If you or your staff have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at the Monterey County Elections Department, at (831) 796-1499.

Very truly yours.

Linda Tulett

Correspondence Secretary

California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

c: Honorable Nancy Skinner, Chair, Assembly Rules Committee Honorable Darrell Steinberg, Chair, Senate Rules Committee Jill Lavine, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee Karen Rhea, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates